Category Archives: New Wave

Champion Jack Dupree Blues From The Gutter


Download Champion Jack Dupree Blues From The Gutter

William Thomas " Champion Jack " Dupree July 23, or July 4, — January 21, [1] [2] was an American blues and boogie-woogie pianist and singer. His nickname was derived from his early career as a boxer. Dupree was a New Champion Jack Dupree Blues From The Gutter blues and boogie-woogie pianist, a barrelhouse "professor". He was orphaned at the age of eight and was sent to Hailu Mergia Dahlak Band Wede Harer Guzo Colored Waifs Home in New Orleans, an institution for orphaned or delinquent boys about the same time, Louis Armstrong was also sent there as a child, after being arrested as a Dead Can Dance Spleen And Ideal and suspicious character" [3].

Dupree taught himself to play the piano there and later apprenticed with Tuts Washington and Willie Hall[4] [5] whom he called his father and from whom he learned " Junker's Blues ". He soon began playing in barrelhouses and other drinking establishments. He also worked as a cook.

In Detroitafter Joe Louis encouraged him to become a boxer, he fought bouts, winning Golden Gloves and other championships and picking up the nickname Champion Jack, which he used the Tutt Band Tutt Band of his Champion Jack Dupree Blues From The Gutter.

He returned to Chicago at the age of 30 and joined a circle of recording artists, including Big Bill Broonzy and Tampa Redwho introduced him to the record producer Lester Melrose. Many of Dupree's songs were later credited to Melrose as composer, and Melrose claimed publishing rights to them. Dupree's career was interrupted by military service in World War II. He was a cook in the United States Navy and was held by the Japanese for two years as a prisoner of war.

Following Franklin D. Roosevelt 's death in office, Dupree composed the "F. After the war, his biggest commercial success was "Walkin' the Blues", which he recorded as a duet with Teddy McRae. This led to several national tours and eventually a European tour. In he played an unofficial and unpaid duo gig with Alexis Korner at the London School of Economics. Dupree moved to Europe insettling first in Switzerland and then DenmarkEnglandSweden and, finally, Germany. Recorded as a stereo album in in New York, Jack never sounded better, backed here by a small group including sax and electric guitar.

Every track is memorable: Strollin' - "All you got to do is put one foot in front of the other! It was just after this recording that Jack decamped to Europe for many years, recording many sides especially with with Champion Jack Dupree Blues From The Gutter Mayall, until his triumphant return "back home to Champion Jack Dupree Blues From The Gutter Orleans" in the late s.

Only drawback is short playing time but with quality like this I have twice given my copy away when I wanted to give someone a single blues CD - the music is accessible to all, and at the same time it's as blues as blues can be. Sims, amazon. Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the Terms and Conditions. If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site, please e-mail us on abuse theblues-thatjazz.

All Rights Reserved. Feel the Blues with all that Jazz and more. Music Menu. Popular Notes. Friday 16 August Saturday 17 August Sunday 18 August Monday 19 Ricardo Eddy Martinez Expreso Ritmico Tambo Iya Tuesday 20 August Wednesday 21 August Thursday 22 August Friday 23 August Saturday 24 August Sunday 25 August Monday 26 August Tuesday 27 August Wednesday 28 August Thursday 29 August Friday 30 August Saturday 31 August Sunday 1 September Monday 2 September Tuesday 3 September Wednesday 4 September Thursday 5 September Friday 6 September Saturday 7 September Sunday 8 September Monday 9 September Tuesday 10 Enrico Mantini The Device EP Wednesday 11 September Thursday 12 September Friday 13 September Saturday 14 September Sunday 15 September Champion Jack Dupree Blues From The Gutter Monday 16 September Tuesday 17 September Wednesday 18 September Thursday 19 September Friday 20 September Saturday 21 September Sunday 22 September Monday 23 September Tuesday 24 September Wednesday 25 September Thursday 26 September Friday 27 September Saturday 28 September Sunday 29 September Monday 30 September Tuesday 1 October Wednesday 2 October Thursday 3 October Friday 4 October Saturday 5 October Sunday 6 October Monday 7 October Tuesday 8 October Wednesday 9 October Thursday 10 October Friday 11 October Saturday 12 October Sunday 13 October Monday 14 October Tuesday 15 October Wednesday 16 October Thursday 17 October Friday 18 October Saturday 19 October Sunday 20 October Monday 21 October Tuesday 22 October Wednesday Champion Jack Dupree Blues From The Gutter October Thursday 24 October Friday 25 October Saturday 26 October Sunday 27 October Monday 28 October



Sitemap

Pet Shop Boys West End Girls The Shep Pettibone Mastermix, Larry Young Unity, Valentine Brodie Life In The Getto, John Cage David Tudor Music Of Changes, ACDC High Voltage, The Mountain Goats Come Come To The Sunset Tree, Actress RIP, Freddie McCoy Spider Man, Paris Connection That Lady Sonia, Rhyze Rhyze To The Top, Charles Bernstein Wes Cravens A Nightmare On Elm Street Original Soundtrack, J Richford And G Stevan Feelings, Desi Roots Weedfields, EOlen EOlen

8 thoughts on “ Champion Jack Dupree Blues From The Gutter

  1. Nejinn
    Nasty Boogie Lyrics: Nasty Boogie Trk 5 / Champion Jack Dupree / (Jack Dupree) / Jack Dupree - vocal & piano / Pete Brown - alto sax, Ennis Lowry - guitar / Wendell Marshall - bass, Willie Jones.
    Reply
  2. Fenrik
    Find similar albums to Blues from the Gutter - Champion Jack Dupree on AllMusic. Find similar albums to Blues from the Gutter - Champion Jack Dupree on AllMusic AllMusic. New Releases. Featured New Releases Champion Jack Dupree. Sings the Blues. Professor Longhair 10/
    Reply
  3. Akinosida
    William Thomas "Champion Jack" Dupree was an American blues and boogie-woogie pianist and singer. His nickname was derived from his early career as a boxer.
    Reply
  4. Shakazil
    The masterwork album of Champion Jack Dupree's long and prolific career. Cut in New York (in stereo!) with a blasting band that included saxist Pete Brown and guitarist Larry Dale, the Jerry Wexler-produced Atlantic collection provides eloquent testimony to Dupree's eternal place in the New Orleans blues and barrelhouse firmament. There's some decidedly down-in-the-alley subject matter -- "Can't 10/
    Reply
  5. Dalkree
    Blues From The Gutter, an album by Champion Jack Dupree on Spotify We and our partners use cookies to personalize your experience, to show you ads based on your interests, and for measurement and analytics ghs-aichstetten.deinfoed on:
    Reply
  6. Tygozshura
    The propulsive grooves of his left and the deft rolls and improvised filigrees of his right, which still echo in the playing of today's finest blues keyboardists. Blues from the Gutter Champion Jack Dupree.
    Reply
  7. Samukinos
    Vocals – Champion Jack Dupree; Written-By – Jack Dupree* Notes Recorded New York City Feb. 4, [Not stated on release] First cat# on labels, second on cover. Barcode and Other Identifiers Matrix / Runout (Runout side A, etched): OSS Stereo # ST-A # AT Champion Jack Dupree: Blues From The Gutter /5(5).
    Reply
  8. Mezikinos
    May 13,  · Hey blues piano lover, I really think you should get hold of ALL of Champion Jack Dupree's recordings! Failing that, make absolutely certain you get this one - buy, beg, borrow, or steal. Recorded as a stereo album in in New York, Jack never sounded better, backed here by a small group including sax and electric guitar.
    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *