Category Archives: Alternative

Swans Public Castration Is A Good Idea


Download Swans Public Castration Is A Good Idea

Users with either a no prior history of listening to Swans or b no desire of subjecting themselves to auditory pain should probably steer clear of this album. This is a live album, recorded at Lara Saint Paul Come LAmore venues in Swans Public Castration Is A Good Idea music is so raw, I had to go to www.

The album opens up with a cacophonous jarring beat, placing the listener in some industrial factory in Eastern Europe without sunlight and Swans Public Castration Is A Good Idea the course for the rest of the album. The effect is minimalistic and hypnotic, such that as I write this review, I find my head slowly nodding in agreement with the cold thuds and crashes.

They let the beat build for a full four minutes before Michael Gira thinks to grace us with his vocals. The Mountain Goats Beat the Champ. Kesha Warrior. Saturday 19 October Sunday 20 October Monday 21 October Tuesday 22 October Wednesday 23 October Thursday 24 October Friday 25 October Saturday 26 October Sunday 27 October Monday 28 October Tuesday 29 October Wednesday 30 October Thursday 31 October Friday 1 November Saturday 2 November Sunday 3 November Monday 4 November Tuesday 5 November Wednesday 6 November Thursday 7 November Friday 8 November Saturday 9 November Sunday 10 November Monday 11 November Tuesday 12 November Wednesday Various Acapella Anonymous Vol 2 Swans Public Castration Is A Good Idea Thursday 14 November Friday 15 November Saturday 16 November Sunday 17 November Monday 18 November Tuesday 19 November Wednesday 20 November Thursday 21 November Friday 22 November Saturday 23 November Sunday 24 November Monday 25 November Tuesday 26 November Wednesday 27 November Thursday 28 November Friday 29 November Saturday 30 November Sunday 1 December Monday 2 December Tuesday 3 December Wednesday 4 December Thursday 5 December Friday 6 December Saturday 7 December Sunday 8 December Monday 9 December Tuesday 10 December Wednesday 11 December Thursday 12 December Friday 13 December Pitchfork Media.

Retrieved October 23, Categories : live albums Swans band live albums Albums produced by Michael Swans Public Castration Is A Good Idea s punk rock album stubs. Hidden Swans Public Castration Is A Good Idea Articles with short description Use mdy dates from October Articles with hAudio microformats All stub articles. Namespaces Article Talk. Recorded at a series of English dates in support of Holy MoneyPublic The strong band lineup at this point was GiraJarboe Kassem Mosse Workshop 12, Westberg with his wrenching guitar work, Kizys on equally extreme bass, and two drummers, Gonzalez and Parsons, all working together brilliantly to blast the unique Swans vision of music and life into probably utterly unsuspecting and apparently at times stunned-silent audiences.

Tracks which came across as a touch more subtle on record, aim for the extreme here. For example, while "Fool," here in Swans Public Castration Is A Good Idea piano and guitar version from Greedstill mostly consists of just that, Gira 's vocals are even more wracked than before. Gonzalez and Parsons' brutal drum work continues its overwhelming feel Rose Battiste I Miss My Baby Hit Run track to track, almost making the Swans Public Castration Is A Good Idea sound like separate movements of one very dark modern symphony indeed.

While it's hard to pick out any one moment where everything is at its peak, the conclusion of "A Hanging" -- all percussion and Gira 's echoed, wordless shouts -- sticks for a very long time in the memory.

In all, a truly mesmerizing, powerful release. AllMusic relies heavily on JavaScript.



Sitemap

Carmelo Torres 3 Y Los Toscos La Negra Tulia Teofilo El Gaitero, Ted Picou Quartet Experience, Scott Walker The Seventh Seal, Five Stairsteps Cubie Dont Change Your Love New Dance Craze, Squarepusher Feed Me Weird Things, Richard Groove Holmes Six Million Dollar Man, Melly Jackson Southern Africa, Texas Tornados Los Texas Tornados, The Dynamics The Burner Juckie Juckie, Talking Heads Stop Making Sense, Deux Filles Silence Wisdom, Vio Lence Eternal Nightmare

9 thoughts on “ Swans Public Castration Is A Good Idea

  1. Nikorisar
    Public Castration Is A Good Idea by SWANS, released 23 March 1. Money Is Flesh 2. Fool 3. A Screw 4. Anything For You 5. Coward 6. A Hanging 7. Stupid Child 8. Another You.
    Reply
  2. Yozshusho
    Nov 20,  · Public Castration Is a Good Idea is the first live album by the New York City band Swans, which was originally released as a semi-official bootleg through Some Bizzare Records in /5(4).
    Reply
  3. Zululmaran
    Public Castration is a Good Idea is a live album by Swans, recorded from shows in London and Nottingham on the Greed/Holy Money tour in
    Reply
  4. Kazrakasa
    Sep 18,  · Swans: Public Castration Is A Good Idea ‎ (2xLP, Album, TP) Not On Label (Swans Self-released) BURN1: UK: Sell This Version/5().
    Reply
  5. Shaktiramar
    Swans - Public Castration Is a Good Idea review: Jarring, atonal, minimalistic noise that will rip your skull apart/5.
    Reply
  6. Vudotaur
    AllMusic Review by Ned Raggett [+] This long out-of-print semi-official bootleg, given a formal re-release in , succeeds admirably at its goal of capturing live Swans in excelsis as avatars of destruction, corruption, and domination. Recorded at a series of English dates in support of Holy Money, Public 9/
    Reply
  7. Fauhn
    Public Castration Is a Good Idea is the first live album by Swans, which was originally released as a semi-official bootleg through Some Bizzare Records in
    Reply
  8. Shakadal
    Sep 18,  · Swans: Public Castration Is A Good Idea ‎ (2xLP, Album, TP) Not On Label (Swans Self-released) BURN1: UK: Sell This Version/5(89).
    Reply
  9. Gutaur
    Jan 09,  · Swans are the greatest band you've probably never heard of. Together for roughly 13 years, Swans made music that, over time, intelligently evolved from hunks of primal brutality to compositions of subtle beauty. Public Castration is a live document that captures the version of the band at it's raw, howling best/5(11).
    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *