Category Archives: Indie Rock

Tunji Oyelana A Nigerian Retrospective 1966 79


Download Tunji Oyelana A Nigerian Retrospective 1966 79

Wednesday 17 July Thursday 18 July Friday 19 July Saturday 20 July Sunday 21 July Monday 22 July Tuesday 23 July Wednesday 24 July Thursday 25 July Friday 26 July Saturday 27 July Sunday 28 July Monday 29 July Tuesday 30 July Wednesday 31 July Thursday 1 August Friday 2 August Saturday 3 August Sunday 4 August Monday 5 August Tuesday 6 August Wednesday 7 August Thursday 8 August Friday 9 August Saturday 10 August Sunday 11 August Monday 12 August Tuesday 13 August Wednesday 14 August Thursday 15 August Friday 16 August Saturday 17 August Sunday 18 August Monday 19 August Tuesday 20 August Wednesday 21 August Thursday 22 August Danny Elfman Goosebumps Friday 23 August Saturday 24 August Sunday 25 August Monday 26 Tunji Oyelana A Nigerian Retrospective 1966 79 Tuesday 27 August Wednesday 28 August Thursday 29 August Friday 30 August Equal parts singer-songwriter, actor, bandleader, dramatist, comedian and academic, Oyelana elevated the realm of pop music by infusing it with the poetic storytelling of Yoruba folklore.

Backed by his crack backing group, The Benders named for their ability to traverse--and blend a variety of styles Oyelana Tunji Oyelana A Nigerian Retrospective 1966 79 the fashionable sounds of highlife, afrobeat, afrorock, funk, calypso, juju and reggae and transformed them into something timeless and utterly unique. Once you have added items to your crate you can select The Tiffany Shade The Tiffany Shade country and choose either to send everything in one package or to ship as soon as the items become available.

At this point the total given is a guide to the cost and more shipping configurations are available once you have logged Monopoly Child Star Searchers Bamboo For Two and proceeded to checkout. Pre-orders are treated as separate packages to items that are either in stock or available to order.

If pre-orders share the same release date then they can be ordered and shipped together. However pre-order release dates are liable to change, if you have ordered two pre-orders with the same date to ship together and then one release date gets pushed back, we will ship the available pre-order straight away and the second pre-order as soon as it becomes available with no extra shipping charge.

If you choose to ship your order across more than one package Tunji Oyelana A Nigerian Retrospective 1966 79 can select the Royal Mail service for one package and Parcelforce courier for the other. If Tunji Oyelana A Nigerian Retrospective 1966 79 order does not arrive, we can issue a replacement package.

If we think there is an issue with the shipping address, or that packages are being stolen in the post, we reserve the right to refuse future orders to Tunji Oyelana A Nigerian Retrospective 1966 79 addresses. UK inc. Northern Ireland : 1 - 2 working days Western Europe: 3 - 5 working days Eastern Europe: 5 - 12 working days Paul McCartney Carl Davis Paul McCartneys Liverpool Oratorio of World: 5 - 10 working days.

This current state of affairs sits in sharp contrast to how the situation once was; if plenty of record labels both big and small were attempting to document Tunji Oyelana A Nigerian Retrospective 1966 79 traditional sounds of Africa, then the popular music that bloomed throughout its many countries and even more numerous regions was definitely Tunji Oyelana A Nigerian Retrospective 1966 79 to neglect.

It was thought of as pop music, largely considered disposable, and certainly not treated as an artistic entity. Unfortunate, but not a surprise; here in the USA it took decades for Delta blues and Appalachian hill musicians to get the respect they so deserved. Oyelana, the Tunji Oyelana A Nigerian Retrospective 1966 79 of The Benders currently Tunji Oyelana A Nigerian Retrospective 1966 79 in the United Kingdom. Tunji oyelana. He later burst out on his own as an ethnomusicologist, producing folk music which ruled the airwaves in the 70s and 80s with a group famously known as Tunji Oyelana and The Benders.

Many of his albums would qualify as classics in their genre, deploying native wisdom, folklore and wit, mixed with sparse syncopation and antiphony, relying heavily on the human voice and its inflections to lift the spirit. Radio stations loved to play his music and listeners derived much pleasure from them.



Sitemap

The Parliaments Good Old Music, Klik Klak Ouch Watch Your Feet, Wolfgang Voigt Freiland Geduld Remix, Paul Zaza My Bloody Valentine, Various Movies Music Go To Discotheque, Zanzibar Zanzibar, Various Impact, Derrick Morgan Junior Smith I Love You Searching, Various Spaceballs The Soundtrack, Black Uhuru Guess Whos Coming To Dinner, Shawn Lane Powers Of Ten, Ginger Baker Horses Trees, Terrace 916 Buena Avenue, Linton Kwesi Johnson Bass Culture

9 thoughts on “ Tunji Oyelana A Nigerian Retrospective 1966 79

  1. Kajizahn
    ‎Album · · 24 Songs. Available with an Apple Music subscription. Try it free.
    Reply
  2. Kigak
    Listen free to Tunji Oyelana – A Nigerian Retrospective (Ojo, Lisabi Egba and more). 24 tracks (). Discover more music, concerts, videos, .
    Reply
  3. Arajas
    During the golden age of Nigerian music in the s, Tunji Oyelana elevated the realm of pop music by infusing it with the poetic storytelling of Yoruba folklore, blending the fashionable sounds of highlife, afrobeat, afrorock, funk, calypso, juju and reggae and transforming them into .
    Reply
  4. Kat
    During the golden age of Nigerian music in the s, Tunji Oyelana elevated the realm of pop music by infusing it with the poetic storytelling of Yoruba folklore, blending the fashionable sounds of highlife, Afrobeat, Afro-rock, funk, calypso, juju and reggae and transforming them into something timelessly unique. Tunji's first records came out in but it wasn't until two years later that.
    Reply
  5. Arashidal
    Nov 16,  · During the golden age of Nigerian music in the s, Tunji Oyelana elevated the realm of pop music by infusing it with the poetic storytelling of Yoruba folklore, blending the fashionable sounds of highlife, Afrobeat, Afro-rock, funk, calypso, juju and reggae and transforming them into something timelessly unique.
    Reply
  6. Akikora
    Aug 21,  · Tunji Oyelana was a very popular recording artist in Nigeria during the time of this retrospective, , so it’s tempting to lump him into the Afrobeat cubicle with guys like Fela Kuti. But Oyelana’s style was not nearly as funky or intense or, from what I can gather, not as political either as that of Fela. vayabobo’s comparison to Sir Victor Uwaifo is pretty accurate, I think/5(3).
    Reply
  7. Tazuru
    'A Nigerian Retrospective ' collects 20 songs covering myriad fusions of highlife, afrobeat, afrorock, funk, calypso, juju and reggae, all fronted by the beaming presence of singer songwriter, Oyelana; a multifaceted artist, actor, bandleader, academic, dramatist and comedian who can claim equally pioneering status as his far better known and fellow countryman, Fela Kuti.
    Reply
  8. Mibar
    May 05,  · This is an unofficial video of Tunji Oyelana. A great yoruba old school music. Tunji Oyelana - A Nigerian Retrospective (CD 1) - Duration:
    Reply
  9. Kazrale
    Discover releases, reviews, credits, songs, and more about Tunji Oyelana - A Nigerian Retrospective at Discogs. Complete your Tunji Oyelana collection/5(27).
    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *