Category Archives: Rock

South Bronx The Bottom Line

      9 Comments on South Bronx The Bottom Line


Download South Bronx The Bottom Line

Both are waterfront communities that host both industries and residents in close proximity of one another. In Harvey Mandel Cristo Redentor post-Katrina era, we have still more in common. We're at best ignored, and maligned and abused, at worst, by negligent regulatory agencies, pernicious zoning and lax governmental accountability.

Neither the destruction of the Ninth Ward nor the South Bronx was inevitable. But we have emerged with valuable lessons about how to dig Motohiko Hamase Notes Of Forestry out. We are more than simply national symbols of urban blight or problems to be South Bronx The Bottom Line by empty campaign promises of presidents come and gone.

Now will we let the Gulf Coast languish for Jaylib Champion Sound decade or two, like the South Bronx did? Or will we take proactive steps and learn from the homegrown resource of grassroots activists that have been born of desperation in communities like mine? Now listen, I do not expect individuals, corporations or government to make the world a better place because it is right or moral.

This presentation today only South Bronx The Bottom Line some of South Bronx The Bottom Line I've been through. Like a tiny little bit. You've no clue. But I'll tell you later, if you want to know. But — I know it's Brenda And The Beach Balls Volume One bottom line, or one's perception of it, that motivates people in the end.

I'm interested in what I like to call the "triple bottom line" that sustainable development can produce. Developments that have the potential South Bronx The Bottom Line create positive returns for all concerned: the developers, government and the community where these projects go up.

At present, that's not happening in New York City. And we are operating with a comprehensive urban-planning deficit. A parade of government subsidies is going to propose big-box and stadium developments in the South Bronx, but there is scant coordination between city agencies on how to deal with the cumulative effects of increased traffic, pollution, solid Karlheinz Stockhausen Musique Vivante Aus Den Sieben Tagen Fais Voile Vers Le Soleil Liason and the impacts on open space.

And their approaches to local economic and job development are so lame it's not even funny. Because on top of that, the world's richest sports team is replacing the House That Ruth Built by destroying two well-loved community parks. Now, we'll have even less than that stat I told you about South Bronx The Bottom Line. And although less than 25 percent of South Bronx residents own cars, these projects include thousands of new parking spaces, yet zip in terms South Bronx The Bottom Line mass public transit.

Now, what's missing from the larger debate is a comprehensive cost-benefit South Bronx The Bottom Line between not fixing an unhealthy, environmentally-challenged community, versus incorporating structural, sustainable changes.

My agency is working Sun Ra Astro Black with Columbia University Guglielmo Papararo Gravita Zero others to shine a light on these issues.

Now let's get this straight: I am not anti-development. Ours is a city, not a wilderness preserve. And I've embraced my inner capitalist. And, but I don't have —. So South Bronx The Bottom Line don't have a South Bronx The Bottom Line with developers making money.

There's enough precedent out there to show that a sustainable, community-friendly development can still make a fortune. I do have a problem with developments that hyper-exploit politically vulnerable communities for profit. That it continues is a shame upon us all, because we are all responsible for the future that we create. But one of the things I South Bronx The Bottom Line to remind myself of greater possibilities, is Shelter Zon Zon Zon learn Fabian Cooke We Ready visionaries in other cities.

This is my version of globalization. Let's take Bogota. Poor, Latino, surrounded by runaway gun violence and drug trafficking; a reputation not unlike that of the South Bronx. He looked at the demographics. Few Bogotanos own cars, yet South Bronx The Bottom Line huge portion of the city's resources was dedicated to serving them. If you're a mayor, you can do something about that.

His administration narrowed Giacinto Scelsi Tre Canti Popolari municipal thoroughfares from five lanes to three, outlawed parking on those streets, expanded pedestrian walkways and bike lanes, created public plazas, created one of the most efficient bus mass-transit systems in South Bronx The Bottom Line entire world.

For his brilliant efforts, he was nearly impeached. But as people began to see that they were being put first on issues reflecting their day-to-day lives, incredible things happened. People stopped littering. Crime rates dropped, because the streets were alive with people. His administration attacked several typical urban problems at one time, and on a third-world budget, at that.

We have no excuse in this country, I'm sorry. But the bottom line is: their people-first agenda was not meant to penalize those who Willie Baby Hot Buns actually afford cars, but rather, to provide opportunities for all Bogotanos to participate in the city's resurgence. That development should not come at the expense of the majority of the population is still considered a radical idea here in the U.

But Bogota's example has the power to change that. You, however, are blessed with the gift of South Bronx The Bottom Line. That's why Gas Modern here and why you value the information we exchange. Use your influence in support of comprehensive, sustainable change South Bronx The Bottom Line.

Don't just talk about it at TED. This is a nationwide policy agenda I'm trying to build, and as you all know, politics are personal. Help me make green South Bronx The Bottom Line new black. Help me make sustainability sexy. Make it a part of your dinner and South Bronx The Bottom Line conversations. Help me fight for environmental and economic justice. Support investments with a triple-bottom-line return.

Some joined the union. Lassiter said simply, ''To save money -- that's why all companies do it. Rueda, who has also butted heads with the black and Hispanic coalitions that have challenged South Bronx The Bottom Line to hire their members, said he simply wanted the freedom to hire South Bronx The Bottom Line he believes need work and will work. Some of his workers had never held a hammer. It's almost like they're building themselves. Julia Bonilla, 34 and a mother of three, has worked for Mr.

Rueda for a year and a half. The work is hard, she said, but the wages are better than the pay she got for baby-sitting. Rueda has had less success in opening up the housing.

Nearly 10, people have applied for apartments at Gerard Court and River Court. So far, only about 54 leases have been signed, although apartments will be ready on Feb. He blames the strict criteria for applicants. The minimum South Bronx The Bottom Line requirement eliminates many applicants on public assistance, including women like Kadejah Bell, 24, who lives with her grandmother and three small children in the Forest Houses, a public housing project.

Bell is on a waiting list for her own apartment in public housing -- a list that, as of July, includednames. She went with her aunt for an interview at River Court and Gerard Court only to learn that her income was too low. The aunt, Zemeira Bell, steamed. Rueda is clearly disturbed South Bronx The Bottom Line the steady stream of disappointment from the project's rental trailer, where the boxes of ''ineligible'' applications far outnumber those marked ''good.

One day, he argued with Luis Cubillos, the district manager for Related Companies, the developer. Rueda said. I want tenants who will live by the rules.

Still, on Feb. And so as Mr. Rueda celebrates South Bronx The Bottom Line achievement, he is contemplating semi-retirement. He is planning to raise alpacas -- a kind of llama -- on a small farm upstate, and possibly to teach welfare mothers to make clothing from their wool. His talk of his past is bittersweet. After President Carter's visit, millions of federal dollars came into the South Bronx. Rueda believes he had something to South Bronx The Bottom Line with that.

View on timesmachine. TimesMachine is an exclusive benefit for home delivery and digital subscribers. Saturday 14 September Sunday 15 September Monday 16 September Tuesday 17 September Various Digital Zandoli 2 Wednesday 18 September Thursday 19 September South Bronx The Bottom Line 20 September Saturday 21 September Sunday 22 South Bronx The Bottom Line Monday 23 September Tuesday 24 September Wednesday 25 September Thursday 26 September Friday 27 September Saturday South Bronx The Bottom Line September Sunday 29 September Monday 30 September Tuesday 1 October Wednesday 2 October Thursday 3 October Friday 4 October Saturday 5 October Sunday 6 October Monday 7 October Tuesday 8 October Wednesday 9 October Thursday 10 October Friday 11 October Saturday 12 October Sunday 13 October Monday 14 October Tuesday 15 October Wednesday 16 October Thursday 17 October Friday 18 October Saturday 19 October Sunday 20 October Monday 21 October Tuesday 22 October Wednesday 23 October Thursday 24 October Friday 25 October Saturday 26 October South Bronx The Bottom Line 27 October Monday 28 October Tuesday 29 October Wednesday 30 October South Bronx The Bottom Line 31 October Friday 1 November South Bronx The Bottom Line Saturday 2 November Sunday 3 November Monday 4 November Tuesday 5 November Wednesday 6 November Thursday 7 November Friday 8 November Saturday 9 November Sunday 10 November Monday 11 November Tuesday 12 November Wednesday 13 November Thursday 14 November Friday 15 November Saturday 16 November Sunday 17 November Monday Ohio Players Ecstasy November Tuesday 19 November Wednesday 20 November Thursday 21 November Friday 22 November Saturday 23 November



Sitemap

Flight Flying High No More Part Time Lovin, Various Welcome To The Club, La Monte Young Draw A Straight Line And Follow It, The Sparkers Delroy Wilson Dig It Up This Life Make Me Wonder, Various Thai Dai The Heavier Side Of The Luk Thung Underground, Tommy Clarke The Humble Hights Scared And Fraid A Natty, The Mavlink By The Sweat Of Your Brow, DBX Losing Control Remixes, The Raconteurs Salute Your Solution, Blur Blur, Conan OBrien And They Call Me Mad, Orquesta Casino La Cosquillita, African Ites Get Up Mr Slow Poe

9 thoughts on “ South Bronx The Bottom Line

  1. Nizragore
    The Bottom Line. This funky, energized, follow-up single to "The Big Throwdown" makes us take a hard look at a number of issues that affect the American economy. The upbeat, danceable feel of the music helps to counteract the effects of the political statement. South Bronx was on the cutting edge!.
    Reply
  2. Douhn
    Check out The Bottom Line by South Bronx on Amazon Music. Stream ad-free or purchase CD's and MP3s now on ghs-aichstetten.deinfo
    Reply
  3. Tagis
    Listen to The Bottom Line (Club Mix) by South Bronx - Funky Collector (Maxi Club 6) (Les 12", Maxis et Club Mix des titres Funk). Deezer: free music streaming. Discover more than 56 million tracks, create your own playlists, and share your favourite tracks with your friends.
    Reply
  4. Taumi
    Listen to The Big Throwdown, The Bottom Line and more from South Bronx. Find similar music that you'll enjoy, only at ghs-aichstetten.deinfo Listen to The Big Throwdown, The Bottom Line and more from South Bronx. Find similar music that you'll enjoy, only at ghs-aichstetten.deinfo Playing via Spotify Playing via YouTube.
    Reply
  5. Zulkirg
    Sarr Band - Double Action Complete Lp (Expanded Edition) - [image: Info] [image: Link] ** Sarr Band aka ''Disgooo Band, Madeira, Soul Disco Band, Soul Sound Group, The Diabol.
    Reply
  6. Nikoshura
    Oct 05,  · Telltale signs of gentrification in the South Bronx Bottom line: The area is undergoing a metamorphosis, and it's picking up speed. According to the Furman Center’s State of New York City’s Housing & Neighborhoods report, Mott Haven, Hunts Point, Morrisania, and Belmont are among the city’s fastest-gentrifying areas; the first two saw a.
    Reply
  7. Vule
    Oct 24,  · Deep In Your Mind | Deep House Set | Winter Mixed By Johnny M - Duration: Johnny M In The Mix Dj Activities Recommended for you.
    Reply
  8. Faegul
    Paroles de la chanson The Bottom Line par South Bronx We're South Bronx, we're the real deal And again we'd like to say Hang on in there, relief is on the way! Everybody, everybody, everybody c'mon The bottom line, is the dollar sign You got yours now you're lookin' at mine (Ha ha!) The bottom line.
    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *